Author Signing: Maggie Stiefvater

Contrary to what the title may suggest, I only went to the author signing because I had to take my sisters there. Regardless of the reason and the fact that I myself didn’t get a book signed, I was still at the event for quite awhile and thought I would write about it, since it was my first time going to a signing. Going in, the only thing I expected was people would be in line to get their books signed, and I was partially correct. As soon as we walked in to the bookstore, though, we saw Maggie stand up on a table and begin talking, to make sure everyone could see her (She had a microphone so hearing wasn’t an issue). I had assumed that all the adults in the area were there for the same reason I was. It wasn’t until the end of her talk, which was explaining different ideas and reasons for things being the way they were in her newest book, that I realized almost everyone who was there had already decided that they wanted to be. That’s when I was reminded of something I end up taking for granted, being able to read. To be brief, reading is good for the mind and can bring people from different backgrounds together. But even in what reading is meant to do, it is limited. I don’t want to get into the politics, but I think it’s unfortunate how some people aren’t given the opportunity to learn or it costs too much for them to go to school, things like that. On that topic, I think “Girl Rising” was a really powerful movie that highlights this point very well. Going back to the signing, it was a good experience. Granted I had to stand for awhile and towards the end pulled out my MCAT book to study, it was cool to hear Maggie really interact with people and do so with a smile on her face every time. To those who haven’t gone to a signing, it may be a worthwhile experience. Also, the pictures are on my sister’s camera so I can’t really prove I went there, so you’ll just have to take my word for it.

-SyB

Leave a Reply

